top of page

MLXVE on getting her song on a Spotify Official Playlist [Q&A]



Montreal's Maria Cammisano, more commonly known as MLXVE, has grown her fanbase after one of her songs got placed on one of Spotify's Official Playlists, "Fresh Finds: The Wave".


Growing up in what she described as a very "tight-knit Italian family", the 18 year-old singer-songwriter said music was always part of her life.


"My dad has a huge love for music and played the guitar along with my brother. Music and expression was always encouraged at home," she said.


She said she started playing piano at age five and incorporated singing when she was 10 years old.  


Years later, she said she decided to attend Champlain College Saint-Lambert for Psychology.


"I wanted to become a therapist, since helping people with their mental health was always something important to me," she said.


However, in her second year, she said she left her program to focus on her music career.


"My passion for music took over me, and I decided it was something I wanted to do full time. I figured I can still somehow help people with my words but through music/songwriting instead," she said.


I was fortunate enough to ask her some questions about her music.

How did Set My Thoughts Free get onto Spotify's Official Playlist?

Honestly, I have no clue how I ended up on there! I heard that if you pitch your music to a playlist, it can increase your chance of getting onto one, but I never did that for Set My Thoughts Free. Nonetheless, I’m so happy to be featured on one since it’s given my music so much more exposure.


Set My Thoughts Free already has over 12,000 streams. Can you give some background on the lyrics?

Nowadays, “ghosting” someone happens a lot. It definitely hurts when you’re getting along with someone, and suddenly they stop talking to you. I wrote Set My Thoughts Free as a message for people to stay true to their feelings and to be honest with one another, even if it means they get disappointed. This song is of course related to love, but the message I’m sending is meant for any situation because the truth is always better than being left confused with no answers.


What inspires your music?

I love writing about things that I relate to and know that others can relate to! Music is therapeutic for me mainly because it’s relatable and I know I’m not going through a certain feeling alone. If I can give someone that same reassurance through my lyrics, I’m happy. Some artists that have inspired my music immensely are Julia Michaels, Lewis Capaldi, Billie Eilish, Khalid, H.E.R., Ariana Grande, Daniel Caeser and many, many more!


How do you usually go about writing songs?

When it comes to writing songs, I’ll find the beat first and if I vibe with it, I begin writing the lyrics. I never plan in advance what the lyrics will be about. Sometimes they’re personal stories, and sometimes I’ll write about experiences that other people have gone through. I’m a very emotional and expressive person, but my feelings only come out when I sing or write lyrics.


What is your goal when you release your songs?

My number one goal is gaining fans, not just followers and streams. I want to connect with the people who listen to my music and follow me. I will often write back to my followers/listeners and this is super important to me because I want to build a long-lasting connection with them. My biggest accomplishment would be to appeal to people who don’t necessarily listen to the genre of music I make, because they connect with my writing.


Is music something you want to pursue as a career?

Yes. If someone would’ve told me a couple years ago that my passion would eventually be something I do full-time, I would’ve told them, “No way, it’s unrealistic and impossible.” But I was once told that I could do anything I want in life. I just have to work hard for it to succeed. So, I took that advice quite literally and I love what I’ve been doing since I’ve started this new journey.


You worked with The Online Recording Studio, based in London, England. How did you find the experience of producing a song «online» as oppose to going to a studio?

Although I’ve never gone to a studio, what attracted me to work with The Online Recording Studio was having more options and ultimately, the price. My goal was to achieve good quality music, which they were able to do. The process is super easy and everything is done at your own pace. You’re teamed up with amazing people who know what they’re doing and are just as passionate about music as you are. I think it’s worth giving it a try, especially since you’re doing it at the comfort of your own home! Their focus isn’t just to produce your music and make it sound amazing; they help you promote it in the right way, offer many services such as working with a designer for your artwork and learn how to target the right audience. It’s also worth mentioning that this couldn’t have been more of a perfect time to use their service due to our current circumstances of having to social distance and not being able to go to a studio.


You mentioned you were bilingual in both French and English. Are you planning on releasing any French Music?

For now, I haven't thought of that, but it would be a good idea now that I think of it!


What are your plans for 2020-2021?

I am releasing an EP in the upcoming months and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it! In 2021 my focus will be doing live shows and to continue writing and releasing music. I’ve done multiple live-streams on social media, but actually performing in front of a live audience is a whole different feeling that I’d love to experience. My focus will also be to learn more about the music industry and marketing myself. There's more to music than just producing and releasing; there’s a business side to it that I need to learn about because there is so much to it that can help me achieve my ultimate goal.


Stream MLXVE'S music below:







bottom of page